Living in Freedom, Personal Growth

Today is Redeemable!

carpe-diem

Often translated as, “seize the Day”, carpe diem has the idea of making the most of the present time by putting aside fears, worries and the like. Living for the day.  I like this idea.  I like it a lot but sometimes my day is filled with regret from yesterday and worry about the proverbial shoe dropping tomorrow.  Sometimes I find it difficult to breathe in my present day much less seize it.  I often feel like I’ve been seized with emotional paralysis.  Other days, I would rather seize my bed covers and pull them over my head.

I try to remember my privilege in time is today.  Only God lives in yesterday with my failures and regrets as well as my victories and successes.  He alone has the potential to redeem the past, so I must let him have it alone.

The past is not my dwelling place. 

Only God lives in the future.  He is waiting there for me and yet, miraculously, with me today.  Worrying cannot change things.  Worrying cannot change the pace or the events unfolding.  Worrying not only robs me of living in tomorrow, but of today as well.
The future is not my dwelling place.
So, how do I seize the redemption of today?  Taking deep breaths and reminding myself that there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.  All my past wrongs do not count against me.  All my past rights have not earned God’s favor so therefore I cannot lose it.  God has said He is for me, so who can be against me?  Today he has promised new mercies.  He is not making do with leftovers from yesterday or rationing out from tomorrow’s portion.  Today is full of new mercies.  Drink this in.  This truth is as refreshing as a cold glass of water on a hot summer day.  Drink this truth in, slowly and deeply.  TODAY is full of new mercies!
Today is redeemable  
And He who sits on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” And He *said, “Write, for these words are faithful and true.”

Leave a Reply

