Happy Thought Indeed, Living in Freedom, Personal Growth, Reflections

You will call me, “Ishi”

isaiah-scroll.l

I love words in all forms.  Written, spoken, or sung, they are fascinating to me.  I love the sounds of languages that are not my native tongue and I find myself listening for patterns and similarities in the words.  I enjoy roots and derivations and anything hidden in words and discovering their meanings.  For Jesus to have been referred to as, “The Word” makes my mind wild with excitement.  There is so much to discover about Him, thru Him and for Him!

My mind and studies frequently bring me back to Hosea 2:16 and the word, Ishi.  I love this little word, its sound and its meaning.

“It will come about in that day,” declares the Lord,
“That you will call Me Ishi
And will no longer call Me Baali.

Some time ago, my study of this word revealed its translated meaning to be “Husband.” Husband is in contrast to the word, Baali, which means “Master”.  There is a HUGE difference in being in a relationship based on servitude versus spousal intimacy.  I laugh with my husband.  We share secrets and have private jokes.  We share hurts and forgiveness.  Our life is made up of a past, a present and a future.  We have reached that place in life where we not only finish each other’s sentences, we finish each other’s actions.  The intimate knowledge we have of each other is thrilling, comforting, and incredibly fulfilling.

God longs to have this kind of intimacy with us.  In fact, He will settle for nothing less. He will not let us settle for less.  Earlier in this passage, his people are described as having settled for harlots, parties, clothes, food and the like and have forgotten Him.  Desiring to show His people the vanity and emptiness of earthly pursuits, His plan is to take Israel into a wilderness and show Himself to them.

“Therefore, behold, I will allure her,
Bring her into the wilderness
And speak kindly to her.”

I , too, have had times of pursuing money, houses, parties, etc. trying to fill my deep desire for intimacy and fulfillment but came up even emptier than before.  I have also had the sweet pleasure of being spoken kindly to be the Lord.  His words are like honey to my soul.  With everything else stripped away, His words are true and life giving.  Intimacy with Ishi can also be thrilling, comforting and fulfilling.  Rest assured that if God has allured you into a wilderness, His intention is to speak kindly to you.

He longs for intimacy and for us to call Him, “Ishi”.

Leave a Reply

